in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-29-01 // 9.55 pm

we sat among our photographs, examined every one

NP: Paul Simon - "Hearts and Bones"

The computer froze up twice in my attempt to write this entry. I think it's decided to cooperate now. Finally.

It's been raining here every since I woke up this morning. Seriously, it's crazy...tomorrow I want to walk down to the river and see how swollen it's become. See, I like this type of weather. Cold, rainy, blustery. But today I had to work out in all of that. We were short a few people, so my partner was sent on a mail run, leaving me to deliver the day's packages by myself. Not hard, but it took longer than usual. Which was kind of crappy since I got soaked in the course of the three or so hours of my route. To pass the time, I started cataloguing the different kids of rain that came down while I was out in it. A few I still remember were "50 degree angle steady", "horizontal mist", "big drops, splotchy", and "syncopated drumming on the van roof". I felt like Rob McKenna in "So Long and Thanks for All the Fish".

After work I ate dinner, then got to work on tomorrow's presentation. It took a while, but I now have a good set of notes to work from, as well as handouts for the class. I also decided what musical examples I'm going to use. Oh, and while I was in the CS lab printing out a bunch of that stuff, I also fixed my program for Data Structures. I'd been messing with it here on my home computer for several days now, but every time it got to the end of the test program I'd written, the compiler would give me some crazy "unkown error" message. So I took the program to the lab tonight & ran it there. Well, I didn't get the weird error, plus I rigged the procedures in the header file so they'd stop throwing the weird errors I couldn't get around before. So now the thing works like it should. I have a few modifications to make still...I'm gonna try to do those this weekend. If I do that, that means this next week I won't have to worry about any assignments & I can get a head start on studying for finals.

So now I'm sitting here with a cup of tea, attempting to restore my body temperature to normal. I think I'm actually getting a bit of a stuffed-up nose from all this wet and cold. It's nothing major, but it's noticeable.

Yesterday I ended up going to Applebee's at two separate points in the evening. First time was at dinnertime with my sister and a few of her friends. I came home, watched "Enterprise" and "West Wing", then sat down at my computer...only to have my roommate call asking if I wanted to go with him and S.P. to the restaurant. I didn't have anything better to do, so I went again. Had a couple bottles of Budweiser, nothing much. Yeah, I know I said "no alcohol this week", but oh well. It was just good to get out of the apartment for a while. Saw Sara while I was there the second time. She was with some guy I didn't know but apparently my roommate did. I really didn't care, but S.P. went over to her table to say hi & came back saying that Sara wanted me to stop by before I left. So I did, she gave me a hug, I asked how her big important presentation went, etc. It was nice to see her for a few minutes, but I was a bit annoyed that apparently she'll go do stuff with this guy but with me...oh no, then she has to jerk me around. OK, OK...enough. I'll let it go.

Maybe I think too much. No, I know I do.

then / now