in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-30-00 // 11.09 pm

these are the days of miracle and wonder

NP: Paul Simon - "Graceland"

This album inspires me. It's one of those things I can't really explain, but listening to it makes me feel a certain way...wistful, optimistic, jovial, contemplative. The fusion of musical styles, the energetic & sublime melodies, the freshness and renewed confidence you can hear in Simon's vocals and lyrics...just everything about it is so full of life, so unique.

So the roommate is out of town for the next three days so I have the flat to myself for a while. Which is just fine by me, a little solitude can be rather peaceful.

I had a nice day today -- I skipped my two classes and just slept in. I met up with my sister for lunch, took a pleasant, lengthy walk, sat around and watched "Quantum Leap" & NBC's Thursday night whatever-the-hell-they're-calling-it-these-days lineup, and even took care of some things around the flat that I've been meaning to get to for a while.

Aline wrote to me the other day. She's so enigmatic...she tells me little bits and pieces of things, teasing me with half-completed thoughts and intriguing mentions of things she never explains further. I love hearing from her, I just wish she'd write more and be less cryptic. Talk about being unique & full of life...I've never known anyone like her.

It's supposed to be a cloudy weekend -- I think I can handle that. I soaked up the sunshine all week, I think it's time to enjoy a bit of gray. Maybe some snow or rain, too, that would be nice.

I guess that's all for now...I'm surprised I even had this much to say in the first place.

then / now