in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-5-00 // 12.08 am

roger dean album cover of a dragon chasing some weird silver ball

NP: Asia - "Asia"

Fabulous record, this. John Wetton + Steve Howe + Carl Palmer + Geoff Downes = mmm mmm good. Too bad this is the only truly good album the band made...chalk that up to constant lineup changes after Howe left, I suppose. And despite the fact that these days he seems to have forgotten how to write a decent song, Downes was and forever shall be a completely underrated keyboard player with the capability to write some amazing soundscapes. The instrumental at the end of "Cutting It Fine" is a particularly stellar example. In any case, I think it's pretty cool to have been both in the Buggles and in Yes. ("Drama", excellent Yes disc there)

I'm too busy these days too worry about little things. I have far too much going on to be bothered with everyone else's lives. Of course, there are notable exceptions, read my last entry for example. But on the whole, people are really starting to annoy me. There's a ton of stuff to take care of this week -- there's the biology presentation on Wednesday, not to mention the Java program due Friday and the final program/presentation in Assembly. That's not even mentioning next week's finals, as well as the errands I have to run and the laundry I so desperately need to do.

Tonight I caught up on all the email that had piled up in my inbox. Finally. I'm sure it'll fill back up in a day or two. Oh well, it's nice to be on top of things for a day, anyway.

I tend to not like taking charge in a group situation. I much prefer being given a thing to do, and then being left alone to figure out a way in which to do it. But with this biology project we've been working on, I've had to rally the rest of the group. I've been dishing out responsibilities and taking the burden upon myself to make sure that the important stuff is done correctly. I think I make a good boss when I have to be one, but I'd much rather just be the guy who works under the boss. Interesting, eh?

Well, all talk of projects, leadership and Geoff Downes aside, I should get some sleep now.

then / now