in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-9-00 // 4.18 pm

me wise magic

NP: All About Eve - "Fairy Light Nights"

A little while ago I took care of my biology take-home exam thing, which is a great feeling. Though tomorrow I'll have to study for my Java final, at least for the rest of today I'm free from any sort of school related stuff.

I just got back from a walk...lately I've been taking some alternate routes, I was getting rather bored of looking at the same stuff every day. So I've been wandering around the old part of town, which has been fantastic. There are lots of old storefronts down on Main street. I enjoy walking around areas like that -- Belleville has a main street like that too. You can wander around and at least for a little while, it feels like it's thirty or forty years ago. This afternoon I explored the area around the old courthouse. I had no idea that there are all sorts of historical markers and plaques and such up there. Plus, at the front of the building, right before the steps that lead down the hill to the street, there exists what I believe to be the most gorgeous view in the entire town. You can sit down on a bench there and just gaze out at the river, over the tops of the old buldings on Main, over the floodgate. You can even see the bridge off to the right, and next to it, the new bridge they're building. It's absolutely breathtaking, and I can't believe I've never stood up there before. Plus, it's been a lovely afternoon weather-wise. Clouds have been streaming in for the past few hours, giving the sky that hazy, milky look that you really only get at this time of the year.

By the way, my increasingly screwy guestbook seems to have decided to delete all of my entries for whatever reason, so feel free to sign again (or for the first time).

then / now