in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-13-00 // 10.49 am

fading lights

NP: Genesis - "We Can't Dance"

Well, really, I'm playing my edited version of the album. There's some excellent stuff on it, but it's entirely too long and what makes it that long is the abundance of schlocky shoulda-been-on-a-Phil-Collins-solo-album songs. So if you have "We Can't Dance" & think it's not too bad but could've been better, program your CD player as such:

(1) "No Son of Mine"
(2) "Jesus He Knows Me"
(3) "Driving the Last Spike"
(4) "Dreaming While You Sleep"
(5) "Living Forever"
(6) "Fading Lights"

That's about 45 minutes worth of music & a damn fine album if I do say so myself. That's what Genesis should've released, it'd have been their best since "Duke". As it stands, the material I pulled from it probably is their best overall since then.

So anyway, this morning I got up at seven o'clock in order to go to my calculus final. I looked out the window and saw snow everywhere. At least six or seven inches, but probably even more than that. I'm a terrible judge of things like that. So I had to dig my car out & attempt to maneuver my way over to campus. It proved incredibly difficult to drive, seeing as how the city apparently decided to not send any plows out. If they did, they must only own one, because it didn't get to this end of town. It's not like this town is that far south, they should know how to handle a snowstorm -- it usually snows here every winter. Ah, yet another reason to get out of this town as soon as possible. Up in St. Louis, we know what to do about snow. Anyway, I finally made it to campus, parked, trekked up a big hill to the math building, took my calc. exam (which I think I did pretty well on, amazingly enough), trudged back to my car, dug it out again, and somehow managed to get back to the apartment. So now I'm in the flat, nice and warm in front of the computer, and I'm not leaving until I have to take my last final tomorrow morning. Apparently in the time since I did all this stuff this morning, the university has cancelled most of the rest of the day's finals. Hinge and my sister have both had theirs rescheduled to Friday. I'm just glad I got my calc. out of the way.

Now it's time for some macaroni & cheese, Saturday Night Live reruns, and later, studying for economics. A weird recipe for a snowed-in day, but hey, I'm weird.

then / now