in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-14-00 // 12.45 am

come back to what you know

NP: Embrace - "The Good Will Out"

Amazon UK has a good and rather amusing review of this album up. Best line: "After all, Shaun Ryder is just Grandpa Simpson with a bag of drugs and a rhyming dictionary, and we all love the Happy Mondays." That is so true.

It's odd about Embrace -- most of their upbeat, rock-ish songs are pretty dire, and it's pretty obvious that they really, really like Oasis (a band I enjoy about 50% of the time). But their ballads are utterly gorgeous -- more the Verve than anything else. Also, if I actually read their lyrics, I either cringe or scratch my chin at their vagueness. But when Danny McNamara sings 'em, they sound important and really affecting. I guess that's the benefit of an emotional, widescreen backing track.

This evening I read my copy Matt Groening's "School Is Hell" collection of 'Life in Hell' cartoons. Not particularly because that's how I'm feeling, but because I saw it on my bookshelf, it caught my eye, and so I read it. Even if Groening had never even thought up the Simpsons, he'd still be a genius in my book for the 'Life in Hell' series.

I went over ot Jon and M&M's place tonight, we watched "A Christmas Story", which of course is essential Christmastime viewing. My favorite bit in the whole movie is when the little kid gets the toy zeppelin for Christmas. Hell, I'd love to get that as a gift. Anyone?

Sometimes I feel like I just want to start talking in disconnected phrases, sort of like a Radiohead album insert.

The city never did plow my street today...a friend of mine almost got stuck in the layered snow & ice. I had to help push his car back on track. Tomorrow I'm just going to walk to campus, unless by afternoon the streets are clear.

Speaking of school and weather, tomorrow's finals have been moved forward four hours each. So my 10am exam is now at 2pm. Which is fine I guess, this way I can sleep in even longer. I just can't wait to get this exam, and with it the semester, over with.

By the way, I passed Assembly with a "C". You don't know how happy it makes me to have completed that course. I may be even happier in knowing that I'm now done with calculus once and for all.

Steph is throwing a party on Saturday night. I have to drive back up to my parents' place on Friday in order to meet with that guy from my father's work, regarding my employment there over winter break. If I don't have to work on Sunday morning at the grocery store, I'm going to drive back down Saturday evening, go to Steph's party, and just crash here at the flat. It's a lot of driving & kind of inconvenient to go back and forth, but Steph really wants me there, and I haven't seen much of her this semester, so I'm trying to work things out so I can attend.

I can't wait to see Robyn...we caught each other on IM the other night, and I was reminded again just how much I miss not having her down here with me. I can't wait to give her a big hug and just sit and talk for an evening.

It really is beautiful outside -- I don't much care for the way snow wreaks havoc on a locale that's unprepared to deal with it, but I adore the way it covers everything. Especially wonderful is the night during or after a big snow. It's usually still cloudy, and the city lights reflect off the snow and the clouds, filling the sky with pinks and reds and fascinating shades of dark that I didn't even know existed. It's common for me to just sit there and lose track of time marvelling at it all.

Right now I'm wearing black sweatpants and a yellow t-shirt. I look like a bumblebee.

Hopefully tomorrow the weather cooperates enough so I can take a walk or make it to the gym. I've only exercised one of the last four days, and it's starting to drive me crazy. I crave physical activity.

OK, I should stop writing now, I'm just going on and on, about nothing in particular. Oh well, that's what this diary is for, isn't it?

then / now