in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-17-00 // 7.30 pm

the fake doctor is out of the office

NP: Belle & Sebastian - "The Boy with the Arab Strap"
������ Sarah McLachlan - "Fumbling Towards Ecstasy"

It's been a while since I've written in this thing. But it's with good reason, as I've been incredibly busy. I took my last final on Thursday, and then had to head back 'home' that afternoon in order to start winter work on Friday morning. So I made my way back to the parents' place, unloaded my stuff, then braved holiday shopping crowds in order to get a new pair of work boots. I also met up with Ryan (for the first time in quite a few months) at Denny's. But anyway, the next morning I had to be at work at six o'clock. I spent the next eight or so hours on a big truck, delivering thin American lager to seedy American bars. It was hard work dragging the two-wheelers through the ice & snow, but it went by quickly and it was nice to be outside for a change. I have to go in at 6.30 tomorrow morning -- the forecast calls for more excessive cold and yet another round of snow. Hopefully I'll return home with all of my toes still attached to my feet.

This weekend's been alright...I went down to uni town last night for Steph's party. Since as the evening went on the weather wasn't cooperating, hardly anyone showed up. (at one point I had to drive over to the mall to rescue Steve and his fiancee, as their car got iced over and was impossible to unlock) It was cool to finally meet the guy Steph's been seeing for the past month (it's about time she found someone nice like that, she really deserves it), but I really had my sights set on an actual party, something raucous with lots of alcohol and single women. Oh well...

This evening my extended family went out for dinner, as the other day was my grandfather's 72nd birthday. It was a good time seeing everyone again, especially since earlier in the week we all got some great news -- he's not ill, the original diagnosis was wrong, no treatment is required at all. It's impossible to describe just how relieved I was when I heard the news.

I guess now I'm caught up. Hopefully I'll get back in the habit of writing here & there'll be some more interesting entries. These "this is what's happened for the past four days" sort of entries are kind of boring, but it's good to get 'em out, to have a record and whatnot.

Now I'm out. I'll be back later, though.

then / now