in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-14-01 // 9.07 am

focus my attention on some further education

NP: Elton John - "Don't Shoot Me I'm Only the Piano Player"

OK, here's the skinny. I took my data structures final yesterday morning. Now keep in mind I studied my ass off for this thing, I lived in the library for a week. Anyway, the professor hands out the exam and I look the thing over and go "oh god". It was like he took every obscure topic we spent maybe like five minutes on and put it on the test. No questions at all about the stuff we spent the majority of the semester covering in lecture. So anyway, I left this exam with a knot in my stomach, wondering how the hell I did...did I get enough points to pass? So the past 24 hours or so have been this massive wad of anxiety, not knowing if I passed this class or not. Which of course put my graduation in jeopardy. If I didn't pass the class, all my plans for the coming months were just fucked.

So, this morning, just a little while ago, I went and talked to the head of the computer science department. I just said "look, I'm supposed to graduate tomorrow...I need to know by the end of today whether or not I passed this class. If I'm not graduating, I'm not going through the embarassment of the ceremony. And I don't want my relatives to drive down here for nothing". So we went and hunted down the professor, who apparently had just finished grading...

I passed.

I seriously don't think I've ever been as excited as I was right that moment. In my life, I've gotten to know very well that sinking feeling you get in your heart and stomach when plans fall to pieces. But at that very moment...it was the polar opposite of that bad feeling. I actually jumped up and down & punched the air as I left the building.

The commencement ceremony is 2pm tomorrow, then. I almost still can't believe it...probably won't fully until I'm actually up there hearing my name called.

As for the rest of this Friday, it's moving day. My parents should be down here soon. Then will begin lots of hauling boxes of stuff (not to mention furniture) down flights of stairs and into a truck. At this point, it's actually a welcome relief.

then / now