in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-17-01 // 1.14 pm

the man in the coonskin cap in the pigpen wants eleven dollar bills but you only got ten

NP: Bob Dylan - "Bringing It All Back Home"

Little by little I'm getting things situated here at my parents' place. The stereo just went up a little while ago. Which is good, 'cause I can only listen to CDs on my computer for so long before the lack of definition starts to get to me.

First weekday off after graduation and no more than ten minutes after I wake up, the phone rings and it's my dad. He tells me that since I'm not in school anymore, his health insurance won't cover me anymore. So he's calling and telling me to get in touch with my work right away and find out (a) where in human resources my offer sheet is, and (b) when my insurance from there will kick in. So I messaged them, hopefully they get back to me soon. I don't want to have to start making phone calls every day 'til it's sorted out. This is all stuff I need to take care of anyway, but it's funny that it only took like a day or so of being back before I had something else to worry about.

Caught the tail-end of "Ferris Bueller's Day Off" on TV this morning whilst eating a bowl of cereal. Now I'm going to have to dig out my tape of it and watch the whole thing. It's really scary how much I identify with the Cameron character. I don't think that's a good thing, but it's true. I'm always the third wheel, I never speak up, I let people push me around. That scene where Cameron is laying on the stone wall after he goes catatonic is just spot-on. Ferris' description of him hits too close to home. You know, I think it's kind of sad that I'm using mid-'80s teen cinema as a metaphor for my own life.

Going to the pub tonight with Ryan, gonna get some food and drink & watch the Rams on Monday Night Football.

Now back I go to doing nothing in particular.

then / now