in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-20-00 // 12.55 am

woman with the strength of 10,000 men

NP: Peter Himmelman - "Skin"

I worked an 11 hour shift on Monday. Hey there new week, nice to meet ya. I didn't have to go in to work today, and I don't have to show up tomorrow, either. As much as I like making money, I also like being able to enjoy my winter break.

So today I was lazy in the morning, I slept until about nine o'clock, I watched some TV shows I'd taped on Sunday, I tried to catch up on email, I went to the bank, etc. This evening I did my Christmas shopping. Now I didn't wait until six days before the holiday because I'm a procrastinator. I waited because the university didn't send me my paycheck until yesterday, and without that check, I was broke. So I braved the massive crowds & bought gifts for my family. My sister gets that new Beatles compilation CD she's been after, which is a fine thing to want if you ask me. My mother gets a CD of that Three Tenors concert PBS showed a few years back...she's always watching that when they rerun it. My dad gets a new hummingbird feeder and a new outdoor thermometer for the deck. Hopefully everyone is happy with what I found for 'em.

I called Robyn this afternoon, seeing if she wanted to go shopping with me. She wasn't in, so I left a message. I hope she gets in touch with me soon, as we still haven't seen each other since break started.

I've been a bit lucky during our current spate of winter weather. Last night, a huge gust of wind blew my car off the road. Thankfully there was a guardrail on the side of the road, along with some snow packed up against it...no-one was hurt and my car didn't even incur as much as a scratch. Tonight, whilst out Xmas shopping, I stopped at a red light and a car slid up beind me and rear-ended my car. Again, I was OK & my car was unharmed. I think these two occurences are some sort of cosmic 'thank you' for having to work outside in the cold, ice & snow this past week or so.

It's currently about 1� Fahrenheit outside. Yes, that's one degree above zero. As a result, my bedroom is even colder than normal, and it's usually an icebox. I was going to buy one of those portable heat fan things (like the ones you can use in the bathroom, etc) at the store tonight, but I spent all my money on the Xmas gifts. At least my bed is warm...I just have to hope that I don't wake up in the morning as an icicle.

I suppose now I should drag myself over to bed & attempt to create a pocket of body-heat related warmth. Maybe then my toes will finally thaw out. It must admit, it'd be a lot easier to stay warm if there was a girl here by my side. Alas, there is not...

then / now