in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-28-00 // 9.34 pm

"it's just that you gave me a black mug...I like to see what I'm drinking"

NP: an absolutely groovy MD mix I made last night.

Drinking a bottle of Guinness (poured into a mug so I can gaze into the liquid's thick darnkess) as I sit here and write this. If there's one thing a person deserves at the end of a long day, it's a pint.

It was another long & exhausting day at work today. Got in at 7am and put in about ten hours. I wasn't out quite as long as I was the previous few times, but I worked extremely hard. I have to go in at 6am tomorrow morning...I wish I had the day off, but the money is good and I do need the funds. At least it'll be Friday, and with that the long New Year holiday weekend. A good time to get some sleep, methinks.

This evening after work, I drove to my old high school where they're holding the annual holiday basketball tournament. Robyn got roped into working the concession stand, so she told me I should come see her and say hi. So I dropped in on my way home from work to tell her what time things were happening on Saturday. I caught her just as she was leaving...her mother reminded her that she has some family birthday party or something Sat. afternoon, so she can't go over to St. Louis with me. But she's gonna call me Sat. morning, we'll probably end up going out and doing something that night.
I know I've been going on about her a lot lately, but when I think about it, there really isn't another person in my life who's been as consistently thoughtful or kind, or as great a friend as she has been to me over the years.

New Year's Eve is on Sunday night...I always end up having completely terrible times. This year, I'll probably head down to uni town, as Steve invited me to a little party he's throwing. Hopefully it's interesting & a bit more energetic than some of his gatherings tend to be. I just don't want it to turn out like so many other things like that do -- a bunch of married or engaged couples sitting around...and me. Blah...at least it beats just sitting around by myself, being bored all evening.

There's more I could write about, but it's just petty stuff from the day, nothing that really matters. Lately, I've just been trying to concentrate on what's good. Despite the negativity & such that often fills this space, things are pretty good right now.

then / now