in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-29-02 // 11.28 am

look out any window

NP: Bruce Hornsby - "Scenes from the Southside"

I slept for a solid 10 hours last night, which is a bit of an anomaly for me. But let me tell you, it felt way good.

It's another mostly sunny, fairly warm day out today. I'm itching to get out, to take a very long walk, to just get some sun and fresh air. But I can feel the cold trying to get into my lungs. It's mostly left my head, but I'll be damned if I get some sort of respiratory infection out of this. Either way, the current state of things is far better than when I was a kid. When I was little, I was so sickly. Well, not that bad, I suppose, but I had (and still do, to an extent) a crap respiratory system. I was always in and out of ear-nose-throat doctors, and our family's general practitioner. It sucked, especially since a lot of the time there wasn't much they could do, as a lot of it was chronic sinus stuff. They could treat the symptoms, sort of, but not cure me of it. Adulthood has sort of lessened the frequency of those sorts of things, thankfully. Because I hate being sick. I'd like to think that when I do get sick, I'm a trooper and don't complain and moan too much, and most times just get on with work, chores, etc. But I still loathe not being 100% physically.

I have Australian rules football on TV in the background. It's the grand final, apparently, complete with club songs, the Aussie national anthem sang by some crap-looking pop group whose name I didn't catch, etc. I dunno, I've watched the sport before, and I've always enjoyed it. Though I will never quite get the hang of the oval pitch. The way they show it on television, the camera never seems to stay in one place for long -- makes it tough to get your bearings.

We have these kids that live in our apartment complex, we call them the "world's worst skate punks", as they're always out in one of the parking lots, trying to do tricks on their boards, and constantly failing. Seriously, I'm not sure I've ever seen one of them successfully complete a jump or whatever. Anyway, I'm pretty sure that for Christmas, one or more of them got snowboards as gifts. However they got them, after it showed this week, they were out there on the grass in the courtyard outside our living room window, trying to slide down the slight incline on their boards. They even set up this mini ramp thing! So now and then, I'll hear sliding and crashing, and I'll look out the window to see 'em slipping and flopping around out there. It's funny as hell, really.

Mmm, I've got a cup of coffee, now. I don't need the caffeine, but it's just not a chill-out weekend morning without some, you know?

At some point, I'd really like to take an entire day to sit down, listen to music, and maybe read a bit. I realize that I do these activities fairly regularly, but I'm talking about an entire day devoted to this. Alone in the house, brewing a big pot of coffee, then going through my record collection dragging out things I haven't listened to for a while, and listening to them. In some ways, those sorts of days are the ultimate in laziness, as I'll literally sit down on the couch with a bunch of albums, and a magazine or half-read book, and stay there until I realize it's somehow midafternoon, and then later, nearly dark. In any case, at some point in the new year, I'd like to take a day off work to stay home to do all that.

I'm getting sort of hungry, but I'm not sure if I'm truly hungry, or if I am, what I should eat. In any case, I'm off to explore that. Later gators.

then / now