in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-30-02 // 10.19 am

and we sailed, and we sailed, way up to caledonia

NP: Van Morrison - "St. Dominic's Preview"

Fucking hell, do I feel like shit right now. For one thing, I got like four hours of sleep last night, since I just could not seem to fall asleep. And of course, I'm still fighting the last bits of that cold, so I'm sniffling, and there's all sorts of messed up pressure issues going on in my sinuses and behind my ears. The weather isn't helping, either. For some reason, it's decided that late December is a good time to be 70 degrees, cloudy, and swampy. Weird, out-of-season changes in the weather like this wreak havoc on my body chemistry, even when I'm 100% healthy. Oh, and also, my digestive system doesn't seem terribly happy today, either. But anyway, I'm sitting at my desk right now, bleary eyed, gurgly stomached, stiff-muscled, with a slight headache, etc. I would love to go home right now. I'd have loved to have stayed in bed in the first place, actually. Blah.

I keep toying with the idea of using sick time and just going home. I could totally do with hanging out on the couch with a cup of soup, watching lots of movies, etc. But I'm going to stay here, because I'm already here, and I don't want to turn into one of those people who call off work or school or whatever at the drop of a hat.

Tomorrow is New Year's Eve, and we're having a small party at our place. Though when it gets here, I hope that I feel better than I do right now, to be honest. In thinking about who we could invite, I was thinking about all of the people I've known over the years, used to be friends with, that I've lost track of. I mean, that sort of thing happens, people come in and out constantly. And I realize that people change, their priorities and interests change. I understand why people diverge and drift away. But when I think about it, there are people that just sort of disappeared for no good reason. J.R. for one. I mean, I think Ryan S hears news of him once in a while, just through the grapevine, but I haven't actually seen him and talked with him for more than a year. Haven't really hung out and such for almost two years, I think. Who else... Ah, my friend Marc from college. It's so weird, he and his wife moved back to the St. Louis area after graduation, they're in St. Peter's right now, I think! But he didn't bother to give anyone his address, phone number, new email, etc. I could look it up, of course, but it's almost like he doesn't want to be bothered. And then there's Jon, leaving spur of the moment, in the middle of the night to move back up to Wisconsin, not even bothering to say goodbye. We shot off a few emails a few months ago (once I finally managed to unearth a current address for him), but he didn't write me back a second time, so...

Erin made a really excellent mix CD for her 13 (14? I can never remember...) year old sister. Apparently, after a phone conversation yesterday, Erin decided she's listening to total crap and that she'd make her a mix to get her on the right track. Which is a great idea. I mean, there's no use forcing things on people, but exposure to things you might never hear of otherwise is always a good thing. In any case, Erin's CD rocks -- she actually used a lot of things I would have used, too. I might make a companion mix, but I'm not sure yet, I'll see how up to it I feel.

I'm itching to get back into the habit of taking a daily walk. I haven't been at all since Christmas Eve morning, since after that there's been snow and mud everywhere, plus I came down with that cold. But my body's at that point where it's like "I need to get out and move around!", you know?

Oh, funny story from yesterday. I'd had all of the random web surfing I could take, and picked up my SNL book to continue reading. So after about 15 minutes, I'm at the bottom a left-hand side page, and I go to continue at the top of the right-hand side page. But for some reason, the anecdote I was reading didn't continue. Instead, there was an italicized editor's note. Weird, of course, but I figured maybe there's been an extra paragraph printed by mistake. But upon further inspection, about 50 pages from about 120 to 170 were completely missing! Instead, there was another copy of pages like 50 through 100. So, I had to get dressed, go back to the bookstore where I got it, and say "er, hey, this copy is completely screwed up, can I have a new one?" They gave me the new one, even though I'd lost my receipt, so that was cool, at least. But still, what the hell?

Thai food has sounded really good for like a week or two now. And it's funny, there's a Thai place within walking distance of our apartment. We've lived there for almost seven months now and we've never eaten there. In any case, I intend to remedy that sooner rather than later. I want to eat me a green curry with eggplant.

OK, OK, that's it for now, enough whining and rambling on. I can get through this day, there's not much going on at work, anyway. I'm even feeling a bit better. Love that self-cheerleading, eh? "come on self, this is you -- you can do it!"

Anyway, I'm out. Six hours and counting...

then / now